Back to the Mogolympics – Hammer Throw!

There’s a long story about my entry into the hammer throw. It’s a seven year old story, and it includes the trials and tribulations of playing a Paladin. You see, I always thought retribution ought to be a viable play style. It wasn’t until Wrath that we saw that come to fruition; and we were pulled back quite a bit in Cataclysm. I know, a lot of folks will say “No, you could play ret in BC!”  Well, you could, and for that matter you could in vanilla, too. But. In vanilla, holy was the only spec that mattered for endgame, I built my own build around holy shock so that I had some viability in the world. And during BC, well, yes, again, you could play ret, and if you got the right mix of strength, Intellect, Critical Strike and Haste, you could play well. But therein lay the problem – we needed both Intellect and Strength to make a go of it.  Wrath changed that. Our go-to stat became strength. We didn’t have four to six stats to balance on our gear (depending on how much you min-maxxed), and everything was undead! We were in heaven.

Anyway, this isn’t a post about what’s been done to paladins, good or bad. This is a post about a certain human female who has wanted a particular trophy as her own for as long as she can remember. It’s something her missing elder sister wanted, too. Sulfuras, Hand of Ragnaros.

Now, you can’t mog legendaries (it’s really a pity, if you ask me!), but there’s an adequate replacement in Sulfuras, the Extinguished Hand for the purpose of carrying around a fiery brand of your own Retribution.

Before you look at my set, though, go take a look at what the others did, and enjoy the commentary. I’m quite pleased with my own showing with a respectable 355 points, and holding the bronze right up until that Tauren for the Frostwolves took the line right after me.  I was a little worried that someone else would mog my hammer, but there was only one other entry with it, and the dwarf went for the bright red and gold look to accompany the outfit.

Here, Shoryl models the Hammer Throw set:

I really wanted the hammer to stand out, but I thought the cloak added a nice touch of brightness to the rest of the outfit. Everything else was subdued, with only light touches of the colors from the molten hammer.

Interestingly, this is one of the few all high-level sets I’ve ever made. I generally like the look of Vanilla and BC era gear much better. I did struggle with trying to make sure I didn’t inadvertently include too much of a “set” in my choices, which led to some interesting selections, like the Sabatons and cloak.
Posted on August 28, 2012, in Transmogrification and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

