Updates – WoW and computers

It’s been pretty hectic around here, mostly at home, but I can provide a few updates on the WoW front, non-the-less.

Sveala

Has dual-specced, and is now questing as well as dungeoning.  To be honest, it’s partially because I’m not getting the time to play at once, taking snippets of time to do one or two quests has been easier than grabbing time for a dungeon. Especially if I’m up and down from my computer.  She’s level 78 now, and if things go right; will make it to 85 in the approximately 6 weeks we have left before Mists.

Laid Back Dungeons

The LBDs have been going well. We’re still bullying our way through various Lich King dungeons, trying to get our red drakes. Hopefully, I’ll be able to run on Wednesday. You’ll read more about why when we get to the computers part of the post.

Mogolympics

My mog for the Hammer Throw hasn’t been posted here yet because of, well, that section down below. I promise to put it up just as soon as I am able.  Which will likely hopefully be tomorrow or Tuesday.

A Second Account

Among other things I’ve been up to, I took advantage of the insane sales on WoW to get a second account set up. You see, I’m a guild loyalist, and I feel guilty playing on toons that don’t belong to the guild. My solution is to use a second account. Besides, this way I get a recruit-a-friend mount for my main account.

The secondary account is going to primarily be used for levelling up toons for the various Classy achievements for the guild. I suspect I will rotate through several toons, and I’m even willing to delete some 85s 90s when the time comes that I’m out of room on that account.  All those toons will be dual gatherers, to help along the gathering achievements and make money for my main stable.  My hope is that I won’t get attached to any of those toons. We’ll see how well that works…

Computers

If I’m on your RealID, you’ve been seeing some cryptic messages for the past week or so. Well, it’s because last Monday, my desktop shut itself off in the middle of a Dwarven Dungeon Crawl.  I opened up the case, and we finished the run without further incident; but that led to some testing, cleaning off the heat sync and otherwise visiting a can of air upon the inside of the case…. to no avail.

The annoying part is that it seems to only happen when I play WoW. Now, to be fair, besides playing WoW, I’ve watched some Xenosaga stuff from Youtube (I’ll get you the link Soon); posted here; read other peoples’ blogs; and played some little flash-style games that don’t take a whole lot of horsepower.  You see how WoW might just be taxing the computer more than the other things, and therefore I’m not convinced that it’s specifically the playing WoW that’s a problem.

Anyway, so right now, I’ve got our laptop (which was purchased to be a music server) set up so I can play at least some. But I have most of the graphics set really low, and of course, none of my beloved addons are set up right. I don’t know that I’d even be able to play Gurdrid on this setup, and I’m pretty sure any kind of dungeon or raid just would not work.

The Desktop is headed in to the shop tomorrow; and Sona has said that if it’s not back by Wednesday, I can borrow her computer for the LBDs. If  I’m doing that, you’ll probably get to read me complaining about things missing from my bars. Lets just all hope that the best solution is not to buy a new computer. While I’d like a new one, I’d also like it to be on my terms, thanks.

Update on the computer front:

They’re keeping my PC for a week! Just to find out  what’s wrong with it. With that knowledge, Sona has graciously said she will let me use her PC for LBDs and LBRs.  Once we know what’s going on with my PC, we may well fix it ourselves (my problem is not fear of opening up the box, it’s not having the diagnostic tools any more). 

Guilty Secret

So, this past week, I finally got around to listening to a Twisted Nether Blogcast. I am ashamed to admit that I meant to when I heard about Tome of the Ancient‘s; and then I meant to when I heard about Navi‘s; and I was intrigued to hear what Kamalia had to say as well… but it was JD‘s that finally kicked me into getting them downloaded. I downloaded all four of those for starters; and listend to JD’s first.

To be fair to myself, I listened to JD’s first because I ended up with the opportunity to listen to the beginning of it live. Unfortunately, the ads popping up at inopportune times, causing me to be unable to hear some of the conversation; as well as my exhaustion since I hadn’t planned on being up that late originally; meant that I got cranky and didn’t listen to the full interview.   But, having heard part of it, I wanted to hear the rest.

I’ll hand it to Fimlys and Hydra, they do an excellent job of interviewing, even if some of the standard questions are pretty clearly being read from their notes/script/whatever it is. Once the conversation is sparked, they’re great to hear interacting with my favorite folks.

And you four guests were all terrific! I really enjoyed listening to what you had to say. For all four of you, I really got a solid sense of where your written voice comes from as well as how much of yourself you put into each of your posts.  I feel more connected with your blog now, thanks to those interviews. (And Navi, I’m totally going to learn to PvP from you someday! I need somebody out there protecting me from the meanies!)

But that’s not really my guilty secret. My guilty secret is that now that I’ve heard how relaxed you all were (even though some of you were very nervous), I want to be on the show. I think it just sounds like a blast.  But at the same time, I’d be scared stiff that no one would care that I was on…. I just have this little tiny blog to go with my little tiny guild, after all. 🙂

Posted on August 19, 2012, in Miscellanea. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You’d be fine on the show, trust me. I’m flattered to have been your first, and I definitely enjoyed the other ones you mentioned me with. I’ll also admit to cheating a bit as I knew several of the questions that were coming just from regularly listening to the show. If anything, that should help you relax a bit because you know at least part of what’s coming.

    Fingers crossed on the computer situation. I’m not versed quite enough to know the issue. I know of at least one computer, though, where it was as simple as a poor hard drive that caused the problem.

  2. I’m flattered you listened to me at all! ❤
    And I was writing a blog post for you but navispam seems to have filled my time for a bit, and when it does down (ie I'll do all the ones I had in mind) and then I can go back to normal posting.

    • You may not know it, because I’m quiet as a doormouse, and read you via Google Reader, but I read every single one of your posts! Of course I listened to your interview!
      And, not to sound like all the fanboys out there, you have a lovely accent; that certainly added to the enjoyment.

  3. I listen to Twisted Nether pretty much every episode, whether I know the guest or not. If I do know them, that’s just a bonus 🙂

    Bummer about your computer – hope it gets sorted out. It sounds like either something’s gone south in either your memory or your video card, since these get worked a lot harder by video games than by other programs.

    • I think I will probably start listening to the Blogcast more often now. Fim and Hydra are great to listen to; and who knows, I might find even more good blogs to read!

  4. Hey, sorry I didn’t make it last night. Mrs and myself were exhausted for various reasons and were asleep (at least I was) by 8:30.

    I’m really hoping to make it next week as it’s the last chance I’ll have for a while to make the Wednesday night ones.

Leave a Reply

