20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge: Day 13

This is the 13th installment of the 20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge.  I’ve been a bit lax on working on this project for some time. Partially because of today’s topic, and partly because other things, including my other hobbies and responsibilities, have gotten in the way.

People You Admire

Admiration is an odd beast; really. I find that I have admiration for people for what some might call the strangest things.  I’m going to start with players, and then move on to bloggers; because I don’t play with a lot of the bloggers I know. (Though that seems to be a theme that is changing).

Players

First and foremost, Karih. He was the player who got me into WoW in the first place. He was able to put together a 40-player team of  individuals (without the help of RealID or other team building tools) who were not in the same guild, and then successfully get them to kill more than one boss in their first night of raiding. While he has a personality that some might find difficult to deal with, he is always honest about his emotions, his desires for his game play, and his ability. He steps up to the challenge, and when he believes in something, he doesn’t back down.

Second on my list is Suthine. He can stay calm in just about any situation. If you say “hey, I’d like to get a Ragnaros kill in” while he’s already in combat with Rags, he’ll run away or let himself die, just to give you the opportunity to join him.  He is the type of guy who is always there to lend a helping hand, regardless of what it is you want to accomplish.

There’s Delvian, who balances home and WoW with precision. He has a bajillion level 85 toons, it seems. He plays all of his classes at least adequately, if not excellently; yet he’s always there for his family, and pursues a demanding career as well.

There’s Keloot, who just has such an awesome time playing the game that his enthusiasm is infectious. It’s always a blast catching up with him and getting some dungeoning or raiding done.

There are several former players whom I respect a great deal in part because of how well they played their classes, and but mostly for the comaraderie and their desire to enjoy the game. Those folks include Malcolm, Hobbes, Qalien and Kennison.

Bloggers

I read a lot of bloggers, and most of them don’t shy away from tough topics. It’s kinda hard to pick out only a few, but I’ll give it my best shot.

Oestrus has to top my list for a few reasons. She has amazing courage to be herself and be vocal about who she is. She also has a wonderful ability to let bygones be bygones, which I have experienced firsthand thanks to our shared WoW past.  Additionally, she tackles a lot of the hard questions, especially the ones that affect her as a girl gamer and part of the GLBT community. (Just go read her blog, already. There are too many options to pick just one link!)

Next up, even though I’ve only known him for a short time, would be JD Kenada. JD has a wonderful understanding of himself, and knows that life balance is important. He has been able to change his mind on big decisions while staying true to his values.

I cannot let Ratshag go without mention, either. It’s hard to describe why I respect and admire Ratters, but I think a little bit of it can be explained by this post.  He just takes things head on, as simple as simple can get; yet he makes you think about the world of Azeroth and the world around you.

Certainly there are many other bloggers who regularly entertain me and make me think; give me lore, screenshots, and a perspective on the Horde; contemplate the gaming community as a whole; and make me laugh, enrage me (usually not at them!), or let me relive the wonder of things I might gloss over in the game on my journeys.

I can’t list everyone, because I’m sure I’d miss someone. So this is the best I can do. The folks above stand out in my mind. I leap on reading their posts, and I comment on their blogs more than others. (And link to some of them an awful lot, too!)

In closing , I’d like to point you at the Inspirations section of my sidebar, where I put links to the blogs of those who have inspired me to write posts of my own; sometimes in response, sometimes in kind, and sometimes via the Blog Azeroth shared topics.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s hard not to be humbled by the kind words you often send my way. Please know I appreciate every one of them immensely, hard as I find it to accept such vast compliments (it’s not you, just my personality).

Leave a Reply

