Character Interview: Shoryl

I’m starting a new series today. Interviews with my characters. While I don’t RP in game, my roots are in both tabletop RPGs and video games. I’ve learned in my years of WoW playing that if I can’t connect with a character on that level. They have to have history, and opinions, or I just don’t care enough about them to care what happens to them.

How did you come to be a paladin?

I was essentially born to be a paladin.  While Mom was a priestess, she did come from a long line of both priests and paladins. Dad’s entire family are dyed in the wool paladins.  I can’t think of a single uncle or grandfather who wasn’t a paladin, and there’s no shortage of women in the line who took up the hammer, either. You could say that it’s in my blood.

I remember my grandfather joking when I was just a little girl that in our family, once you become a paladin, you even bleed the Light.

Had I been born in different circumstances, though, I’m pretty sure I would have become a warrior; but I do love how much power I can pull into myself with the Light, and how good it feels to rain retribution on Azeroth’s enemies.

So, you’ve always known you’d be a paladin?

Well, Mom wanted me to become a priestess, but I think she wanted me to stay safe. My older sister, Taoiseach, became a paladin. She was there when the heroes went to defeat Ragnaros the first time. She was a healer back in those days.  Something changed in her, though, when she went to Northrend. I don’t know if it was something with her and Arianrose (a Draenai she met sometime while we were trying to stop Kael’Thas in Outland); but one day they went to the Darkmoon Faire and they never came back. Dad keeps her armor from the old days in top condition. I think he hopes that she comes back some day, and the Lawbringer armor is just gorgeous.

But, back to the question – I knew I’d be a paladin. I was always a rough-and-tumble kid, and my best friend growing up (and to this day), Sonaira, is also a paladin. We used to spar all the time. Now, we get plenty of practice in the field, so there’s not so much point to sparring.   I remember when our fathers took us to the Cathedral to be sworn in. The Cathedral was somehow grander that day. The weather was perfect, and… it just all felt so right. 

You’ve excelled with the training and retribution style approach to combat, but have you ever considered training either the protection style or delving deeper into healing magics? 

I’ve thought about it, but there’s not as much call for protection , and I really love the power of retribution. After Taoiseach went missing, I pretty much gave up on considering trying healing magic. I’m pretty sure it would be too stressful for Mom.  

What led you to join the Higher Authority guild?

This wasn’t particularly serendipitous. Sonaira’s father used to lead the guild, and so she was obviously going to join. I had nowhere else to go, and they’re good people, so I joined as well. 

And now you’re their Guild Leader, how did that come about?

When Sona’s dad retired, I took up the mantle of leadership. I think many people expected Sonaira to do it, but we both knew I’m better suited to the role.

Leading a small guild of adventurers is actually relatively easy, it’s mostly the time spent finding the good candidates that matters, and I take special pride in introducing them around to the others. There are a lot of family ties among members of the guild. Breige and Sruith are sisters, and their cousin Gurdrid recently joined as well.

What do you do most now?

I like to help out around town. I cook and fish, so I help the locals with what they need pretty regularly. I’ve been trying to earn the trust of a few of the factions trying to fight off Deathwing and the Twilight’s Hammer, but I just don’t travel as much as I used to. Most recently, I’ve been helping Gurdrid advance her blacksmithing skills by doing some mining here and there. Having the skill to wrestle a flying mount certainly helps with that task, and it gives me an opportunity to let the several that I own stretch their wings.

Do you have any hobbies?

My father now runs a small stable for the children of Stormwind’s nobles, and I’ve taken to collecting exotic mounts for him to show off. He’s also a bit of a practical joker. It was great fun to watch when the Archbishop stopped by and saw one of the orphans he’d taken a personal interest in riding Lord Rivendare’s Deathcharger. 

Give us an example of a day at home.

I’m frequently up quite early. I like the quiet of the Stormwind Docks in the morning. I’ll go and watch the ship from Teldrassil come in, as well as the supply boats headed out to Northrend. After a while, I’ll go down to the canals and talk with the fishmongers, or other shopkeepers.

Once folks in the guild start waking up, I’ll go see if Suthine’s made breakfast yet. She’s a heck of a cook, as well as an astounding healer. Then I’ll do a little bit of guild business, or go mining, or maybe cut a gem or two.  I’ll visit my father and help with the horses, surprising children by letting them ride my albino drake, who is actually quite friendly. 

What one place would you like to go back to, that you’ve visited?

There are so many to choose from, but with Hellscream leading the Horde now, many of the places I might want to go to relax are just too war torn to be really enjoyable. I found Ashenvale a delight the first time I was there, but the stories Kerridwen tells of how the goblins have helped advance Hellscream’s agenda, well, I don’t think I want to go back now.

So, I think I’d have to say Un’Goro Crater. It’s lush, and while the wildlife there is dangerous, and there’s a Silithid hive there, these things are known, and contained. Also, I’m fascinated by the Titans, and curious about the similarities between Un’Goro Crater and Sholazar Basin.

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Altitis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

