Visiting Whisperwind

About the same time as my post about possibly leaving Higher Authority, I had a little conversation with Matty about a guild called Reloaded. They’re on Whisperwind, they’re pretty good sized, she’s in the guild with one of her toons, and there’s this other blogger there too, whom I’ve been connected to via RealID for some time thanks to Blog Azeroth.

So, I thought I’d take a gander over there and see what I could see, and created Grianna, a dwarf mage. I spent an hour or so playing while Matty looked for someone who could get me in the guild, but no one with the right authority was available. The next time I logged in, I’d just missed Logtar, but another guild member was able to give me the guild invite. I played for a while and watched the conversation in guild. It was a lovely mixture of congratulations as various people earned achievements (as well as brief snippets about them, and even some gentle ribbing) and a real honest to goodness conversation about the weather (really, what else is there to talk about right now?) Everyone was friendly and decent, and used complete words and understandable sentence fragments. Even though I was soloing as I leveled, and not talking much, I felt connected. And that felt nice.

Last night, they were doing a Flex raid. Having not been able to connect with Logtar, I signed up for the raid on Grianna, knowing full well that I’d be playing Breige. But I wanted to let him know that I wanted to attend, and this was my best way of doing so at the time. Besides, it amused me to sign up for Seige of Orgrimmar on a level 17 toon.  Shortly before raid time, I dinged 20. That in itself says something about how much I was enjoying playing on Whisperwind. While I was busy leveling, someone put out a call for the Timeless Isle weekly stuffs, though chatting was a little quieter.

Once I connected with Logtar before raid, I switched over to Breige, and the invite was sent. Vent information was found, after something having to do with Bogota, Columbia (that wasn’t the vent info). We started in Wing 1 just to check out how our makeup was going to work, and it went smoothly, except for the trash right before the Sha of Pride, which sounded like a strategic error, and we were quickly dispatching the Sha.  So then we headed to the 3rd wing, and things were a little rough around the edges there.

In a way, since I’m looking at this guild as a possible good fit, it was nice to see how they handled the wipes. Adjustments were made, mechanics explained. Everyone sounded patient, and no one seemed particularly worried that we couldn’t do what we had set out for. Many successes were had and some gear was acquired. For my own part, I picked up two upgrades to Seige LFR gear, and two upgrades to 502 gear, included in those four pieces were two tier tokens, so now I have a two-piece set.

All in all, I really enjoyed the experience, and am seriously considering Reloaded as a new home for at least Breige.

Posted on January 29, 2014, in Miscellanea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wait, what? the raid was in Bogota, lol. That’s great! It would be wonderful to find a suitable home for your characters so you can get busy doing the things you want to do. I hope it works out for you.

    • Well, it’s hotter in Durotar this time of year, but I’d take the 60s it’s supposed to be having right now, if not the elevation.

      Anyway, thank you for the well wishes. I broke the news that I am likely moving Breige to Higher Authority last night, and they took it reasonably well. I have one last in-game obligation to a guildy as I promised him a belt with nice stats, but I’m only a few hides away from completing that.

  2. Interestingly enough I too have a 90 in reloaded on whisperwind. Interesting to see other bloggers in that guild. I only knew of logtar to be honest.

    I am not well geared on that alt nor have I raided with them but I can say from my time being there they are very nice people there. Good luck finding a home. Perhaps on one of the rare occasions I am on there I’ll bump into you. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

