Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Top 5 Mounts

This week’s Blog Azeroth shared topic coming right on the heals of my recent mount acquisition seems too serendipitous to pass up (not to mention, I actually know about it for a change).  Dragonray asks us the following question:

So what are your top 5 mounts – or just the ones you go to all the time because you like the way they ride? What are the ones you really dislike and can never bring yourself to use – does it rub against your collecting nature (if you have one) to buy all the mounts even though you know you will never use them?

I’ll start with my top 5 favorite mounts that I own, in proper countdown fashion:

5. Sunwalker Kodo – I really enjoy showing off my Tauren pally mount. Tauren look silly on horses, so a more robust mount is defintely a must for the Sunwalkers. The only downside is that my Alliance paladins are stuck with the original horse.

4. Nether Rays – I love the look of all the rays, it doesn’t particularly matter what color they are. Also, I have a lovely memory of finishing the rep up during WoW’s 8th Anniversary, with the buff, and when getting my last Ray, also getting the Mountain O’ Mounts  achievement.

3. Silver Covenant Hippogryph – I love all of the Hippogryphs, but this white one is just gorgeous.

2. Phosphorescent Stone Drake – Does this beauty really need an explanation?

1. Currently the pride of my collection is the Jeweled Onyx Panther. I put a lot of work into gaining the reputation on my jewelcrafter, and creating all of the materials (and making bags to sell) while collecting the funds to make a second set of the panthers.

And now for the second part of the question: my least favorite mounts:

5. The Cloud Serpents are not enjoyable to ride. Because of the way they undulate, the bobbing up and down gets distracting. They’re also huge.

4. Ashes of A’lar / Fiery Warhorse not because I dislike either mount, per se, but because I cannot seem to win them! The RNG hates me! I’m actually pretty sure they’d be in my top 5 if I owned them.

3.  Protodrakes – I really dislike the wings on the protodrake model, even if I have been known to pursue acquisition of them from time to time….

2. Qiraji Resonating Crystals – The thing I dislike about these mounts is quite simply that they are only usable in AQ. And they drop ridiculously often. To the point where my tank carries around one of each just so she doesn’t have to roll on them!

1. Scorpid mounts. Scorpids are creepy. Scorpids big enough to ride are even creepier.

And for the final part of the question, no it doesn’t particularly bother me that I have mounts that I will never use. Some of them are reminders of friends and enjoyable times (like the human’s Charger). Others are reminders of long sought goals, like the Glory of the Hero Red Protodrake.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in BA Shared Topic, Mounts. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I had a Tauren Paladin who I deleted to make room and the one thing that really bothered me was the loss of that Kodo, I loved it.

  2. These 5 are the mounts that I generally use across all toons, although there’s a lot of functional benefit involved rather than personal preference in some cases.

    1. Obsidian Netherwing – compact (can fit through doorways!), can act as both a flying and ground mount AND you can carry a passenger! It’s my all-in-one choice of general mount greatness.

    2. Azure Water Strider – it strides on water! I just don’t like how it squeaks when it takes falling damage… and for some reason it seems I take minor falling damage a lot when I’m running around.

    3. Sea Turtle – it moves relatively quickly through water! I prefer it to the Seahorse since you don’t dismount when you leave the water.

    4. Pureblood Fire Hawk – it’s on FIRE! Teams nicely with Flametalon of Alysrazor as a fly/ground combo.

    5. Headless Horseman’s Mount – like the Netherwing but without passenger potential. Also, it tweaks a buddy who hasn’t had this drop yet despite much effort to see me using it.

    If it was more about just how they look, I’d include any of the Netherwing Drakes as well, they’re pretty slick. I also like using some of the more dramatic-looking mounts on leveling toons… the Klaxxi scorpion, the Zul bear, the Brewfest Kodo (the small legs make it look like you’re moving faster than you are). I don’t like using the Mammoth or Yak mounts casually, though, they’re just too big to be enjoyable as actual mounts.

    Overall, though, my favourite mount might very well be the Magic Rooster. It’s so ridiculously inappropriate that I can’t help but love it.

    The Cloud Serpents are by far my least favourite as well, they take up way too much room, they’re constantly in motion, they never actually land and they require a rep grind just to use them. No thanks.

  3. Thanks for reminding me just how pretty the silver covenant Hippogryphs are. I think that will be my next purchase. Just need to get back into the swing of the dailies now.

  4. Interesting. I actually prefer the regular Kodos to the Sunwalker version.

    As for the Cloudserpents, I imagine they function in the same way that Heart of the Aspects does. Definitely not fun (though HotA loop-de-loops are still fun).

  1. Pingback: Shared topic – Mountable Mounts | Azerothian Life

  2. Pingback: Group Quest #150: There and back again, a Pandaren’s Beer Festival | Group Quest

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

