The Other Side of Altitis

For many years now, I’ve had multiple toons that I played here and there, but Cataclysm was the first time I made a concerted effort to get several of them to max level. Gurdrid was the first, followed shortly by Shoryl, then by Kerridwen. Later on, I finished leveling Briege, and near the end of the expansion I got Oquae and Sveala up to 85. All of them set to head into Pandaria.

My primary goal was professions. I wanted to try and capitalize on early opportunities to make money with the things that would be in short supply, but that raiders would need. The problem, however, is that much of the stuff I was hoping to be able to make money on was locked behind not one, but generally two reputations. Jewelcrafting, alchemy and inscription were the rare exceptions, and so I was able to earn a bit with that – in fact alchemy and inscription are still paying off.

But with 4 90s  at this time, I find myself struggling with what I want to accomplish in game. Part of that is because one thing I really want is the Jeweled Onyx Panther. I can make it now, but it’s a lot of gold. What’s the best way to get gold? Well, on my server, it’s a little bit of Living Steel and as many Royal Satchels as I can manage to make.  And so, I am running 3 full 16-plot farms. That means that if I’m diligent toward that goal, I would do the following every day:

Oquae – Farm motes of harmony to speed production of Imperial Silk. Use cooldown. Make bags whenever possible.

Gurdrid - Farm ore – smelt all trillium for Sveala, send all ghost iron (and extra trillium of one color) to Shoryl

Breige - Farm cloth if needed, or ore if cloth is not needed. Do Thunder Island Dailies. Do the Troves of the Thunder King Scenario weekly.

Shoryl - Prospect ore from Gurdrid/Breige. Cut and vendor green gems, AH extra blue gems. 

Sveala - Use Living Steel Cooldown, AH Greater shoulder enchants and Living Steel.

It doesn’t really seem all that bad, does it? But, if I’ve only got 45 minutes to an hour to play in the evening, well, that’s about all I can do.

I’ve barely been able to pet battle, touch the Isle of Giants, or actually learn the LFR raids. I barely did the new content that came with the most recent patch. I certainly don’t get around to doing the weekly collection of items for Vol’jin.

But what would I do if I wasn’t trying to make 72,000 gold for one mount? Well, I have a low-level priest I want to work on. I have a death knight to get to 85. I’m waiting for the new server structure to see if there might be a guild merger in our future. And I will probably be spending a bunch of time working out which race/class combinations are needed for the rest of the Classy guild achievements, then leveling them. I haven’t even gone through the Pandaren starting area, much less tried to go both Horde and Alliance to see how that differs.

So many things to do, and sometimes, that’s paralyzing in itself.

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Altitis. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yes, you give me too many choices and I seem to freeze up. I purposely go to a grocery store that’s smaller so I don’t freeze in the aisle smitten with indecision, lol.

    My two Warlocks and Druid are the only characters that actually get very far with gear, the rest are support staff. Someone has to stay home and make money!

  2. I know the feeling — sometimes by the time I’ve finished all my characters’ farms, I’m too worn out to do anything else!

  3. It’s gotten better, it helps that I’ve been using more passive methods of gaining gold, too

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

